Also known as…

My real name is a little bit unusual.  It is not weird sounding, or exotic, or anything like that, you just do not hear it every day.  It does get mispronounced quite a bit and sometimes I am called by many different names. 

I started a new job at a new church at the very end of last year.  In early spring of this year, I was in my office talking to someone when a very nice lady came in and said, “Cassie, can I ask you something?”  I looked at the person, who is not called Cassie, and that person looked at me. (My name is not Cassie) I looked at the woman in the door way and said, “Of course.”

I thought maybe this was a one time thing so I let it slide. About a month later our church got a new pastor.  The week he started the youth sponsored an event and the new pastor and his wife attended.  He introduced me as Cassie to his wife.  I stated my real name to her and our pastor didn’t say anything.  I thought at the time he was joking, but now I am not so sure. 

A week later in service, an older lady (who is obsessed with my hair, but that is another post altogether) came up to me and said, “I hear you sometimes go by Cassie.” (She was serious.)  I said, “No mam, I have never gone by Cassie.”  She replied, “Oh, well you should go by Cassie, it is such a pretty name.”

hmmm….

5 Comments

  1. shoeshe said,

    November 11, 2008 at 5:35 pm

    So, was she hinting that she didn’t like your given name?

    I love your name. While it is a bit different, it is you. You’re a bit different. If everyone in life had normal names, the baby name book industry would be dead.

  2. Hey You said,

    November 11, 2008 at 6:47 pm

    I like your name better than Cassie too.

  3. shoeshe said,

    November 11, 2008 at 7:14 pm

    Cassie sounds a bit slutty (sorry). I definitely prefer the real name.

  4. shoeshe said,

    November 11, 2008 at 7:15 pm

    Or like a dog…

  5. shoeshe said,

    November 11, 2008 at 7:15 pm

    Oh, sorry…that was Lassie…my bad.


Leave a comment